A warm fuzzy

This morning I went running. Not that unusual. I run five or six days a week.

I didn’t relish the thought of running this morning. It was dark. It was wet. It was cold. Autumn arrived overnight about a week ago. But once I started I was fine.

I ran my go-to route to Hagley Park (2km), the figure eight loop around both sections (8km), and back home giving me a total of 12km. A nice number to log before breakfast.

I needed to stuff my beanie in a pocket and unzip my jacket relatively quickly into the run. And then I just ran, at a comfy pace, probably close to MP. I zoned out, as you do. Thinking about breakfast, planning my day, muesli or toast, budgeting money in my head, peaches or rhubarb, remembering what I need to tell Andrew. Completely inside my head.

“Robyn.” Someone calls my name. I turn and another lycra clad person wearing a jacket and headband is running back towards me. I. Have. No. Idea. Who. It. Is. It is darkish. I am not wearing glasses. And I am pretty crap at matching names/faces.

“Robyn, I just wanted to tell you I am running my first marathon.”

My lightbulb clicked. This woman and I have spent some time together before and after races. I have also bumped into her in the supermarket. Christchurch is just a village really with only 400,000 people. I thought her name was Debbie. (Google later confirmed it. Phew!)

We chatted. She was running with a group of men and then carrying on to complete two and a half hours. I was tempted to say I would run with her but my stomach was remembering the promise of muesli, rhubarb and yoghurt.

She finished by yelling over her shoulder as she ran to rejoin her group, “Thanks, Robyn, you inspired me!”

Wow! A warm fuzzy for a damp dreary day. Thank you, Debbie. I ran a little bit faster all the way home.

2 thoughts on “A warm fuzzy

  1. Commiserations on approaching winter. On the other side of the world we are going into spring and I’m so happy! I remember the sense of regret reading blogs about summer from the antipodes when we were in the cold and dark, but it doesn’t last long. I’m going to try harder next winter to keep going. You seem to be coping with it well, what keeps you going?

  2. Our winters are not bad. And the weather usually changes quickly so nothing lingers. I can run in shorts abd a merino tee shirt for 10 months of the year. I take the occasional USRD if I need to and don’t beat myself up on it. We also have a lot of days where although temps might be low, the sun is shining. Long periods of wet or drizzle or grey are not the normal. We might get three days but then the sun will come out again. Albeit weak, it is enough to boost moods. I think many of my northern hemisphere running friends have it much harder than I can even imagine.

Leave a Reply

